Categories
The Saints

St. Columba of Sens

Feast day: December 31

In the year 257, there was a baby born to a noble family in Zaragoza, the northwestern region of Spain, and the baby was named Eporita, but when she was a child, she moved to Vienne, France. It was there that Eporita was baptized, which was when she received the name Columba, which means “dove”, and she became a consecrated virgin. Later, she left Spain for France with other Christians so as to avoid being denounced as such. Near Paris in north-central France.

Around this time, Roman Emperor Aurelian passed through Sens so as to put all Christians to death. Alone among the Christians, Columba found some favor to Aurelian. There were a few reasons for that. After all, she was of noble blood. Also (since this happened eighteen centuries ago), she was just so pretty, which made him not want to kill her immediately. He did, however, want Columba to marry her son (because that is what you do when you are the Emperor of Rome and meet an attractive lady). She refused, of course, so he locked her up in a brothel in the town amphitheater, but a friendly she-bear protected her. Aurelian tried to burn both Columba and the bear alive, but, fortunately, it started to rain, which put out the fire. Columba was condemned to death and beheaded, perhaps near a fountain named d’Azon. Her body was left on the ground after she was killed, but a man named Aubertus, who had prayed to her for the restoration of his sight, took care of her burial. Columba went to God in 273.

Columba, like most saints, had courage and followed God through many threats and hardships. She stayed by her vow of virginity even when breaking it would save her life. And God protected her, for a time, both with the she-bear and with the rain. I suggest those who are seeking the virtue of chastity, especially when it is hard, pray to her and seek her intercession.

St. Columba of Sens
Pray for Us!

I am the Chivalric Apologist

Source: https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=2708

By The Chivalric Apologist

Hello, I am the Chivalric Catholic or the Catholic of Honor. I conform all my beliefs to the Magisterium founded by Christ and guided by the Holy Spirit. The short explanation of who I am is a teenager with nostalgia for the Middle Ages. I have a love for apologetics, honor, and literature (especially adventures). I believe it is important and honorable to respect my opponents in this. If anything I write is contrary to the Faith (after all, I have no degrees) please write to me and inform me.

Leave a comment